String Quartet in F minor, Op.80

Felix Mendelssohn

Performers : Quatuor Van Kuijk

Level : Advanced

Pitch : 440Hz

Available movements

About :This quartet was Mendelssohn's last completed work, composed in 1847, a few months before his death. It is a tribute to his sister Fanny, who died in May of that year, and is sometimes called "Requiem for Fanny". On several occasions, the theme of a Romance without words dedicated to Fanny appears in the score. Shortly afterwards, Mendelssohn wrote two movements of a final work for quartet, which remained unfinished (op. 81 nos. 1 and 2).

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more