Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave), Op.26

Felix Mendelssohn

Performers : Le Cercle de l'Harmonie, Jérémie Rohrer

Level : Advanced

Pitch : 438Hz

Available movements

About :The Hebrides or Fingal's Cave, Op. 26, originally entitled The Lonely Island, is an overture composed by Felix Mendelssohn. The theme of this symphonic piece, developed in Scotland in the summer of 1829, evokes the memory of an excursion the composer had made to the island of Staffa, where the famous Fingal cave is located. The work was reworked in Paris in 1832 and took its final title. The first performance of the work took place in London on 14 May 1832 under the direction of the composer.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more