String Octet in E-flat major, Op.20 - III. Scherzo

Felix Mendelssohn

Performers : Jean-Guihen Queyras & Solistes de l'Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg

Level : Advanced

Pitch : 442Hz

Available movements

About :Composed in Berlin in 1825 when he was only 16 years old, Mendelssohn's Octet opus 20 is regarded as his first masterpiece. Unlike other works based on double quartets (such as Spohr's, written in 1823), Mendelssohn designed his octet for eight independent voices. This allowed him to vary the instrumental combinations, thus arousing the admiration of his peers, including Schumann.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more