Sonata No.4 in C minor for Violin and obliggato Harpsichord, BWV 1017

Johann Sebastian Bach

Performers : Marina Chiche & Aurélien Pontier

Level : Intermediate

Pitch : 442Hz

Available movements

About :The six sonatas for Violin and obbligato Harpsichord, BWV 1014-1019, were composed during Bach's final years in Cöthen between 1720 and 1723. The opening Largo of BWV 1017 is a Siciliano, a binary dance form widely used in the early eighteenth century. The compositional style and impassioned tone resemble those of the obbligato Violin solo in the celebrated alto aria 'Erbarme dich' from Bach's St. Matthew Passion.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more